poplablu.blogg.se

Savage rifle 7mm-08
Savage rifle 7mm-08









It’s called lapping the barrel and this task should be performed on any new rifle. The first thing Steve does to remove those burrs is to run JB Bore Paste thru the barrel to remove the burrs and polish the barrel. After pouring over all the camo patterns on their website I figured this one would fit-in best in the blacktail woods.Īfter the camo was applied Don mounted the Leupold scope and it was ready for the range.įactory barrels come with microscopic burrs than can effect the accuracy of the rifle. The first thing Don did was to take the rifle and scope to Northwest Hydroprint in Montesano, Washington to have them apply a camo pattern called “ Swamp Hide” to them. I dropped the gun off with Don Davis and Steve Turner from Snake River Hunting Club and they set the whole sha-bango up for me while I was in Alaska running saltwater charters for the summer. This rifle will be used mostly for shots less than 300 yards, so I didn’t see the need to purchase a jacked-up scope for it. For optics I went with a Leupold VX-2 in 3X9 with a Boone and Crockett reticle. I was so happy with the last Savage I purchased I just went ahead and ordered a second one from Sportco in Fife, Washington. Black bears and elk are definitely not out of the picture with the 7mm 08. You can find 7mm-08 ammo from 100 grain all the up to 175 grain which provides a lot more opportunity to hunt big game larger than just deer. My good friend Jay Field purchased a 7mm-08 a few years back and simply loves it for blacktail hunting in Western Washington and short-range mule deer or whitetail hunts in Eastern Washington. It’s a veritable cream-puff compared to the bigger magnums. It took some convincing but my wife finally bit on my sales pitch.Īfter a ton of research I settled on the 7mm-08 because the load offers a wide range of ammunition choices and it resides in the lower end of the recoil charts. 300 Winnie or my shoulder-thumping Belgium Browning 30.06. With any luck our daughter will be hunting with me in the next ten years, or so, and she sure as heck won’t be shouldering my. I pitched it to my wife as a solid investment. She seems a little young for a rifle but with the rapidly rising cost of guns and ammo in the U.S. I needed one because of a recent hunt for Sitka blacktails in Southeast Alaska and a daughter that just turned two. It does not store any personal data.I’m always looking for an excuse to purchase new toys to satisfy my hunting and fishing fix and this time it just so happened that I “needed” a new low-recoil rifle. The cookie is set by the GDPR Cookie Consent plugin and is used to store whether or not user has consented to the use of cookies. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Performance". This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookies is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Necessary". The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Other. The cookie is set by GDPR cookie consent to record the user consent for the cookies in the category "Functional". The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Analytics". These cookies ensure basic functionalities and security features of the website, anonymously. Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly.











Savage rifle 7mm-08